Administration

A team of professionals ensures that the Institute’s resources and operations are optimized to support Whitehead’s core scientific mission.

Administrators
Image
Ruth Lehmann in a blue blazer
Ruth Lehmann
President & Director

Ruth Lehmann is the director of the Whitehead Institute and a world-renowned cell and developmental geneticist whose work focuses on reproduction and maternal to embryo inheritance. She has served as director since July 2020. Previously, Lehmann was the Director of the Skirball Institute of Biomolecular...

Read more
Image
Martin Mullins headshow
Martin Mullins
Vice President  

Martin Mullins joined Whitehead Institute in June 2007 as vice president, responsible for leadership, management and organization of the Institute’s administrative operations and affairs. He brings to the Institute more than thirty-five years of progressive management experience in pharmaceutical,...

Read more
Image
Sharon Stanczak
Sharon Stanczak
Vice President for Advancement    

Sharon has worked in the advancement field for over 25 years and currently serves as Vice President for Institutional Advancement for the Whitehead Institute for Biomedical Research. Before joining Whitehead Institute, she worked at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology for 11 years. She has contributed...

Read more
Image
Julia Fantasia in a black blazer.
Julia Fantasia
Chief Financial Officer  
Directors
Carla DeMaria
Carla DeMaria

Director of Intellectual Property & Sponsored Programs
demaria@wi.mit.edu    
 

Lisa Girard headshot
Lisa Girard

Director of Strategic Communications  
lgirard@wi.mit.edu    

Marcia Glatt
Marcia Glatt

Director of Procurement & Special Projects 
glatt@wi.mit.edu    

A long red brick building seen from the air.
Jim Manganello

Director of Facilities Management and Environmental Health & Safety   
jlm@wi.mit.edu    
 

Roger Roach
Roger Roach

Director of Information Technology
rar@wi.mit.edu

 Subha Sainathan
Subha Sainathan

Director of Research Finance    
sainatha@wi.mit.edu

Dilly Wilson
Dilly Wilson

Director of Human Resources    
dawilson@wi.mit.edu    

Associate Directors and Managers
Pari Arokiaraj
Pari Arokiaraj

Associate Director of Environmental Health & Safety 
araj@wi.mit.edu    
 

A long red brick building seen from the air.
Priya Prakash Budde

Manager of Advancement    
pbudde@wi.mit.edu    
 

Erin DeMarco
Erin DeMarco

Manager of Advancement Operations & Donor Relations
edemarco@wi.mit.edu

Jen Fairchild
Jen Fairchild

Human Resources Manager    
jfairchild@wi.mit.edu    
 

Sheri Farnum
Sheri Farnum

Associate Director, Sponsored Programs    
sfarnum@wi.mit.edu    

Jeff Landry
Jeff Landry

Manager, Payroll    
jlandry@wi.mit.edu    
 

Merrill Meadow
Merrill Meadow

Manager, Science Communications
mmeadow@wi.mit.edu    

Kelly Merrifield
Kelly Merrifield

Procurement & Sourcing Manager    
merrifield@wi.mit.edu

 

Ann Misuraca
Ann Misuraca

Manager, Accounting    
ataormin@wi.mit.edu    

 

Shoji Takahashi
Shoji Takahashi

Associate Director of Intellectual Property    
takahash@wi.mit.edu    

 

Ning Zhuang
Ning Zhuang

Manager, Data Warehouse    
zhuang@wi.mit.edu