Whitehead Institute’s world-renowned faculty include the recipient of the 2011 National Medal of Science (Rudolf Jaenisch); 1997 National Medal of Science (Robert A Weinberg); ten Members of the National Academy of Sciences (David Bartel, Gerald R. Fink, Jaenisch, Ruth Lehmann, Harvey F. Lodish, David Sabatini, David C. Page, Weinberg, Jonathan Weissman and Richard Young); four members of the National Academy of Medicine (Fink, Jaenisch, Page, and Weinberg); and five Fellows of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences (Fink, Jaenisch, Lodish, Page, and Weinberg). All Whitehead faculty are also professors at MIT.

David Bartel

Iain Cheeseman

Gerald R. Fink

Mary Gehring

Rudolf Jaenisch

Ankur Jain

Ruth Lehmann, Director

Pulin Li

Harvey F. Lodish

Sebastian Lourido

David C. Page

Peter W. Reddien

David Sabatini

Robert A. Weinberg

Jonathan Weissman

Jing-Ke Weng

Yukiko Yamashita

Richard A. Young

Former Members

Faculty In The News

November 30, 2020

New Whitehead Fellow seeks to harness the immune system to fight pancreatic cancer

Tobiloba Oni—a cell biologist whose graduate research at Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory helped open new paths for understanding, detecting, and potentially treating pancreatic cancer—has been appointed as a Whitehead Fellow.

October 30, 2020

Whitehead Institute Mourns the Death of Angelika Amon

Angelika Amon, one of the world’s most respected biomedical researchers and a colleague and mentor to many Whitehead Institute investigators and trainees, died Oct. 29. 

All News

© Whitehead Institute for Biomedical Research              455 Main Street          Cambridge, MA 02142