Tag: Awards + Announcements

Harvey Lodish to chair MLSC Scientific Advisory Board

March 26, 2008

Peer review board aids the quasi-public agency that promotes life sciences in Massachusetts.

Whitehead ranks among best places for postdocs

March 3, 2008

Collaborative efforts continue to improve experience for young researchers.

Gijsbert Grotenbreg is named NRF Research Fellow

February 15, 2008

Postdoc will receive up to $1.5 million for independent research in Singapore.

Susan Lindquist receives Genetics Society of America Medal

February 5, 2008

The medal is given for outstanding contributions in the field of genetics during the past 15 years.

Whitehead Institute unveils innovative salary and benefits plan for postdoctoral scientists

January 17, 2008

New plan significantly improves salary and benefits for its postdoctoral scientists–a crucial step in addressing the needs of these promising young researchers.

Special Fellow Defne Yarar investigates actin in action

August 8, 2007

She studies the microfilaments that help to give cells structure, allow them to move, divide them, and let muscles contract.

New Whitehead Member Iain Cheeseman to study key mechanism in cell division

June 21, 2007

His work focuses on the kinetochore, a structure that helps to divvy up DNA molecules shortly before cells divide.

Hazel Sive named associate dean of MIT School of Science

June 11, 2007

Her new role she will focus on educational issues and initiatives.

New Whitehead Fellow Kate Rubins studies infectious disease

March 8, 2007

She investigates poxviruses, a class that includes not only smallpox but cowpox, monkeypox and vaccinia—the virus from which the smallpox vaccine is developed.

Charles Ellis named Chair of Whitehead Board of Directors

December 12, 2006

Charles D. Ellis has been elected Chair of the Board of Directors for Whitehead Institute for Biomedical Research.

Rudolf Jaenisch receives Max Delbrück Medal

December 1, 2006

The German Center honors Jaenisch for discovering non-genetic mechanisms in both cancer and stem cells.

Weinberg to head Ludwig Center for Molecular Oncology at MIT

November 15, 2006

The new center, which will be administered through MIT’s Center for Cancer Research (CCR), will focus on the biology of cancer metastasis.


© Whitehead Institute for Biomedical Research              455 Main Street          Cambridge, MA 02142